Trade Promotion Organization in Asia (Member Organizations)

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MOFAT)

Dato Paduka Lim Jock Hoi (Tentative)
Permanent Secretary
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs was formally established upon the resumption of Brunei Darussalam's full independence on 1 January 1984. His Royal Highness Prince Mohamed Bolkiah was appointed as the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Brunei Darussalam.

The process of setting up the Ministry, however, began way back in early 1979 with the establishment of the Diplomatic Service Department. Its main function was to gradually take over the responsibility of handling Brunei Darussalam's external affairs. Brunei Darussalam then has three missions overseas, namely Brunei Darussalam Commission in Kuala Lumpur, London and Singapore. All these missions were upgraded to High Commission in 1984.

On 1st August 2005, the International Relations and Trade Department of the Ministry of Industry and Primary Resources was merged into the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. With that, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is known as the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Information of Organization

Name Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MOFAT)
Status Government
Date of Foundation 1984
HQ Address Department of Economic Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, International Convention Centre(ICC), Jalan Pulaie, Berakas BB3910
Upper Organization -
Office Domestic : 1 Abroad : 39 offices in 35 countries

Basic Information

Country/Region Negara Brunei Darussalam
(sq km)
Population (millions) 0.40
Capital Bandar Seri Begawan
Language -
Religion -